Thousands Will Receive Help from AILA Members to Apply for Citizenship

CONTACTS:
George Tzamaras
202-507-7649
gtzamaras@aila.org
Belle Woods
202-507-7675
bwoods@aila.org

WASHINGTON, DC - The American Immigration Lawyers Association (AILA) is proud to sponsor the ninth annual Citizenship Day on Saturday, September 19, 2015. This event brings together AILA attorneys and other advocates to provide assistance to lawful permanent residents eligible for naturalization. AILA partners with the NALEO Educational Fund again this year; the effort will result in a total of more than 50 naturalization clinics in cities and towns across the country. "There is almost nothing I do as an immigration attorney more rewarding than helping qualified applicants apply for citizenship, taking another important step forward on their path to the American Dream," said AILA President Victor Nieblas Pradis. He continued, "With more than eight million potentially eligible green card holders living and working in our communities, AILA's volunteers have their work cut out for them but look forward to the challenge!" For eight years, AILA's award-winning Citizenship Day has brought together attorneys and community stakeholders in a one-day, multi-site event to provide free or low-cost assistance to eligible legal permanent residents who wish to apply for U.S. citizenship. This year, AILA's event coincides with National Constitution and Citizenship Day. Celebrated annually on September 17, Constitution Day recognizes the adoption of the United States Constitution and those who have become U.S. citizens.

The event is made possible through the strong partnerships between AILA chapters across the country and the NALEO Educational Fund, the nation's leading nonprofit organization that facilitates the full participation of Latinos in the American political process. In 2015, AILA Citizenship Day celebrates its ninth anniversary as a nationwide event and its seventh year working with NALEO. Last year, at events in 22 states and the District of Columbia, thousands of immigrants were served; this year AILA aims to do even more.

"Citizenship Day is the culmination of the work of many organizations, including AILA and a wide range of community organizations, to the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) Office of Citizenship. That collaboration is what ensures the event's success year after year," said Susan Timmons Marks, Associate Director of AILA's Practice and Professionalism Center.

Citizenship Day clinics will be held around the country; a list of clinic coordinators and their email addresses is available after this release.

###

The American Immigration Lawyers Association is the national association of immigration lawyers established to promote justice, advocate for fair and reasonable immigration law and policy, advance the quality of immigration and nationality law and practice, and enhance the professional development of its members.

Philadelphia
Judi Bernstein-Baker
jbernsteinbaker@hiaspa.org

Santa Clara
Amanda Alvarado-Ford
aford.law@gmail.com

South Florida
Glenn Cooper
Glenn.Cooper@gray-robinson.com
Claudia Del-Castillo Hronsky
cdelcastillo@immigrationcounselsllc.com
Jose Guerrero
jaguerrero@grlawfirm.net
Andrea Montavon-McKillip
andrea@immigrationsofl.com

Southern California
Tiffany Chang
Tiffany@sggimmigration.com
Connie Choi
connie@sggimmigration.com

Texas and Oklahoma
Frances Valdez
fvaldezlaw@gmail.com

Washington, DC, Maryland, and Virginia
Jumoke Oladapo
ivylawoffice@yahoo.com

Wisconsin
Shabnam Lotfi
shabnamlotfi@gmail.com

Washington State
Maria Williams
mwilliams@thelandmarklawgroup.com
Susan Larrance
susan@larrancelaw.com

Arizona
Marisol Angulo
ma@hernandezglobal.com

Carolinas
Aimee Deverall
aimee@deverall-law.com

Colorado
Leigh Alpert
leigh.alpert@battanlaw.com

Georgia
Paola Chavarro
paola@chavarrolawfirm.com

Idaho
Chris Christensen
cchristensen@andradelegal.com

Indiana
Rachel Van Tyle
rvantyle@nclegalclinic.org

Michigan
Alex Vernon agvernon@gmail.com

Mid-South
Jeremy Jong
jjong@ccdiobr.org

New York
Rachel Baskin
baskinesq@gmail.com
Alfredo Murga
alfredo.murga@hua-murga.com

Ohio
Andy Bramante
andy.bramante.immlaw@gmail.com

Cite as AILA Doc. No. 15091512.