AILA’s 10th Annual Citizenship Day Will Help Thousands

CONTACTS:
George Tzamaras
202-507-7649
gtzamaras@aila.org
Belle Woods
202-507-7675
bwoods@aila.org

WASHINGTON, DC – The American Immigration Lawyers Association (AILA) is proud to sponsor the tenth annual Citizenship Day on Saturday, September 17, 2016. This event brings together AILA attorneys across the country, along with other advocates, to provide assistance as lawful permanent residents seek to naturalize. Once again, AILA is partnering with the NALEO Educational Fund this year; the effort will result in a total of more than 50 naturalization clinics in cities and towns around the nation.

"As an immigration attorney, helping someone apply for citizenship, and all the rights and obligations that come along with naturalization, is one of the most positive and heartwarming parts of the job," said AILA President William A. Stock. He continued, "Through naturalization, immigrants are brought fully into the community and civil society, adding their creativity, caring, innovation, and drive to the fabric of America. AILA is proud to once again offer these free clinics for those looking to take another step toward citizenship."

Each year, AILA's award-winning Citizenship Day has brought together attorneys and community stakeholders in an event intended to provide free or low-cost assistance to eligible legal permanent residents who wish to apply for U.S. citizenship. This year's event is offered on National Constitution and Citizenship Day, a day which recognizes the adoption of the United States Constitution and those who have become U.S. citizens.

Citizenship Day is only possible because of the partnerships between AILA chapters in states across the country and the NALEO Educational Fund, the nation's leading nonprofit organization that facilitates the full participation of Latinos in the American political process. Last year, at events in nearly two dozen states and the District of Columbia, thousands of immigrants were served; this year AILA aims to do even more.

"Year after year I am humbled by the commitment that AILA members show to this project," said Susan Timmons Marks, Associate Director of AILA's Practice and Professionalism Center. She continued, "Our members donate countless hours of legal assistance and sacrifice a day that could be spent doing anything else, and they do it for a love of our country, and a desire to honor the love for America shown by immigrants. There are nearly nine million people eligible for naturalization, so it could be a very busy day!"

Citizenship Day clinics will be held around the country; a list of clinic coordinators and their email addresses is available after this release.

###

The American Immigration Lawyers Association is the national association of immigration lawyers established to promote justice, advocate for fair and reasonable immigration law and policy, advance the quality of immigration and nationality law and practice, and enhance the professional development of its members.

Carolinas
Aimee Deverall aimee@deverall-law.com

Chicago
Viviana Mendez vmendez@eriehouse.org
Lindsay Wunrow lwunrow@ahlgrenlaw.com

Colorado
Leigh Alpert leigh.alpert@battanlaw.com

Georgia - Alabama
Paola Chavarro paola@chavarrolawfirm.com
Nicole Weitnauer nicole@socheatchea.com

Idaho
Denise Penton denisepenton@live.com

Kansas
Matthew L. Hoppock matthew@hoppocklawfirm.com

Minnesota/Dakotas
Caroline Ostrom costrom@opimmigration.com

Nevada
Dee Sull dee@sullglobal.com

New England
Eliana Nader enader@magaletta.com
Emily Leung eleung@justicema.org
Dayana Moreno DMoreno@ascentria.org
Julio Henriquez jhenriquez@jhenriquezlaw.com

New Jersey
Vinay Malik vmalik@vkmlawgroup.com

New York
Sophia Goring-Piard sgoring-piard@fragomen.com
Lauren Tetenbaum Lauren.Tetenbaum@gmail.com

Northern California
Caroline Keating ckeating@iibayarea.org
Emily Abraham emily@socialjusticecollaborative.org

Ohio
Andy Bramante andy.bramante.immlaw@gmail.com

Pittsburgh
Suzanne Susany ssusany@sosf.org
Laura Rogers llr@rogersandrogers.com
Thelma Kraynak thelma@kranyakattorneys.com
Christina Powers christinalpowers@gmail.com

Santa Clara
Amanda Alvarado-Ford aford.law@gmail.com
Merle Kahn merle.kahn@gmail.com

South Florida
Maria Casablanca maria.casablanca@Akerman.com
Laura Kelley laura@lfkimmigration.com

Texas and Oklahoma
Frances Valdez fvaldezlaw@gmail.com

Washington, DC, Maryland, and Virginia
Jill Bussey jillmbussey@gmail.com

Wisconsin
Shabnam Lotfi shabnamlotfi@gmail.com
Andrew Shaw shawlawoffices@gmail.com
Melissa Soberalski melissa@soberalskilaw.com

Washington State
Margaret O'Donnell modonnell@globallawadvocates.com
Oksana Bilobran obilobran@kwacares.org


Cite as AILA Doc. No. 16091499.