DREAM Act Reintroduced in Both Chambers

Cite as "AILA InfoNet Doc. No. 07030769 (posted Mar. 7, 2007)"

On 3/6/07, Senator Richard Durbin (D-IL) introduced the Development, Relief, and Education for Alien Minors (DREAM) Act of 2007 (S. 774) in the Senate. During the previous week, on 3/1/07, Representative Howard Berman introduced similar legislation, the American Dream Act (H.R. 1275), in the House.

The DREAM Act and American Dream Act would make certain undocumented students eligible for a six-year conditional permanent resident status upon high school graduation. These students could then apply to have the conditional basis of their permanent residence status lifted after completing at least two years of higher education or serving for at least two years in the U.S. military.

The bills would also repeal section 505 of the Illegal Immigration Reform and Immigrant Responsibility Act of 1996 (IIRAIRA), which requires states that provide the in-state tuition rate to undocumented students to provide the same tuition rate to out-of-state residents.

Original cosponsors of the American Dream Act (H.R. 1275) include Representatives Howard Berman (D-CA), Lincoln Diaz-Balart (R-FL), Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R-FL), and Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-CA).

Original cosponsors of the DREAM Act (S. 774) include Senators Richard Durbin (D-IL), Chuck Hagel (R-NE), Richard Lugar (R-IN), Edward Kennedy (D-MA), Patrick Leahy (D-VT), Russ Feingold (D-WI), Barack Obama (D-IL), Joseph Lieberman (I-CT), Larry Craig (R-ID), Mike Crapo (R-ID), and John McCain (R-AZ).

Copyright © 1993–2014, American Immigration Lawyers Association.
Suite 300, 1331 G Street, NW, Washington, DC 20005
Copyright & Reprint Policy
Contact Us