Reps. Gutierrez and Flake Introduce Bipartisan STRIVE Act

Cite as "AILA InfoNet Doc. No. 07032312 (posted Mar. 23, 2007)"

On 3/22/07, Representatives Luis Gutierrez (D-IL) and Jeff Flake (R-AZ) introduced the Security Through Regularized Immigration and a Vibrant Economy (STRIVE) Act of 2007 (H.R. 1645), a bipartisan comprehensive immigration reform bill. On the same day, AILA issued a press release welcoming the Act as a vital step toward restoring the integrity of our immigration system.

The STRIVE Act combines smart enforcement and border security provisions with an earned legalization program for undocumented immigrants already in the U.S. and a new worker program that provides legal channels for future immigrant workers. The legislation also addresses the backlogs and inefficiencies in the family-based and employment-based immigration system.

The STRIVE Act was co-authored by Representatives Gutierrez and Flake. Original cosponsors of the bill include Representatives Joe Baca (D-CA), Xavier Becerra (D-CA), Dennis Cardoza (D-CA), Joseph Crowley (D-NY), Henry Cuellar (D-TX), Lincoln Diaz-Balart (R-FL), Mario Diaz-Balart (R-FL), Rahm Emanuel (D-IL), Luis Fortuno (R-PR), Gabrielle Giffords (D-AZ), Charles Gonzalez (D-TX), Raul Grijalva (D-AZ), Ruben Hinojosa (D-TX), Sheila Jackson-Lee (D-TX), Ray LaHood (R-IL), Grace Napolitano (D-CA), Solomon Ortiz (D-TX), Ed Pastor (D-AZ), George Radanovich (R-CA), Silvestre Reyes (D-TX), Ciro Rodriguez (D-TX), Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R-FL), Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-CA), John Salazar (D-CO), Janice Schakowsky (D-IL), Jose Serrano (D-NY), Albio Sires (D-NJ), and Hilda Solis (D-CA).

A brief overview and longer summary of the STRIVE Act, as well as the text of the bill, are available on InfoNet.

Copyright © 1993–2014, American Immigration Lawyers Association.
Suite 300, 1331 G Street, NW, Washington, DC 20005
Copyright & Reprint Policy
Contact Us