Set Text Size:

S

S

S

Thousands Will Receive Help from AILA Members to Apply for Citizenship

Cite as "AILA InfoNet Doc. No. 14042254 (posted Apr. 22, 2014)"

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Tuesday, April 22, 2014

CONTACTS:
George Tzamaras or Belle Woods
202-507-7649 - 202-507-7675
gtzamaras@aila.org - bwoods@aila.org

Thousands Will Receive Help from AILA Members to Apply for Citizenship

WASHINGTON, DC — The American Immigration Lawyers Association (AILA) is proud to sponsor the 8th annual Citizenship Day on Saturday, April 26, 2014. This annual event brings together AILA attorneys and other stakeholders to provide assistance to lawful permanent residents eligible for naturalization. AILA partners with "ya es hora ¡Ciudadanía!" again this year; the effort will result in a total of more than 50 naturalization clinics in 22 states and the District of Columbia.

"I know from personal experience how rewarding it is to help qualified applicants take that next step toward realizing their American Dream by applying for citizenship," said AILA President Doug Stump. He continued, "Helping aspiring citizens, who have waited for years to have this chance, is incredibly inspiring."

AILA's Citizenship Day has been recognized with awards and accolades over the years as it brings together attorneys and community stakeholders in a one-day, multi-site event to provide free or low-cost assistance to eligible legal permanent residents who wish to apply for U.S. citizenship.

The event is made possible through the strong partnerships between AILA chapters across the country and the grassroots campaign "ya es hora ¡Ciudadanía!" In 2014, AILA Citizenship Day celebrates its 8th anniversary as a nationwide event and its 6th year working with the campaign. Last year, at events in 23 states and the District of Columbia, thousands of immigrants were served.

"AILA is proud of the work we do on Citizenship Day but we don't do it alone. The relationships we have with community organizations and stakeholders, as well as the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) Office of Citizenship and the Department of Justice's Office of Special Counsel for Immigration-Related Unfair Employment Practices ensure that this event is a success," said Susan Timmons, Associate Director of AILA's Practice and Professionalism Center.

Citizenship Day clinics will be held in Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Georgia, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, and Washington, D.C. A list of clinic coordinators and their email addresses is available after this release.


###

The American Immigration Lawyers Association is the national association of immigration lawyers established to promote justice, advocate for fair and reasonable immigration law and policy, advance the quality of immigration and nationality law and practice, and enhance the professional development of its members.

Arizona
Marisol Angulo
ma@hernandezglobal.com
San Diego
Susan Worm
sworm@immigrationlawclinic.com
Monica Rottermann
rott.esq@gmail.com
Central Florida
Kara Roberts - Jacksonville
kara.roberts@jaxlegalaid.org
Camila Pachon - Orlando
cpachon@legalaidocba.org
Dina Castillo-Ward - Orlando
dina.castward@gmail.com
John Dubrule - Tampa
johnd@gulfcoastlegal.org
South Florida
Sui Chung
schung@lawgroupusa.com
Chicago
Cathy Higgins-Mora
chiggins@hsplegal.com
Edyta Salata
edyta@salatalaw.net
Maria Frenn Kallmeyer
maria.kallmeyer@quarles.com
Southern California
Yeu Hong
yhong@immgroup.com
Rajesh Prasad
rajesh@parikhlawoffices.com
Colorado
Aaron Clarke Hall
aaron@immigrationissues.com
Texas and Oklahoma
Frances Valdez
fvaldezlaw@gmail.com
Georgia
Anne Koch - Decatur
anne@kochimmigration.com
Utah
Margaret Pascual
mwpascual@sbcglobal.net
Hawaii
John Robert Egan
jegan@migrationcounsel.com
Ohio
Stacy Cozart - Cleveland
cozart@visaskk.com
Matt Nierman - Columbus
mnierman@shihablawyers.com
Jorge Martinez - Cincinnati
jorge@jortinez.com
Indiana
Christie Popp
popplawoffice@gmail.com
Philadelphia
Judi Bernstein-Baker
jbernsteinbaker@hiaspa.org
Valentine Brown
vbrown@duanemorris.com
Michigan
David Koelsch
koelscdc@udmercy.edu
Utah
Margaret Pascual
mwpascual@sbcglobal.net
Mid-South: Tennessee, Kentucky and Louisana
Bob Lenard
rrlenard@aol.com
Washington, DC, Maryland, and Virginia
Jonelle Ocloo
jonelleo@murthy.com
New England: Massachusetts and Vermont
Sidney Collier
scollier@collierimmigration.com
Emily Leung
eleung@law.harvard.edu
Livia Lungulescu
livia@romanovskylaw.com
Washington State
Megan Vogel
meganvogel@dwt.com
Karin Tolgu
karintolgu@msn.com
Kati Ortiz
kati@rioscruz.com
New York
Rachel Baskin
baskinesq@gmail.com
Alfredo Murga
alfredo.murga@hua-murga.com

Share on LinkedIn
 
Copyright © 1993–2014, American Immigration Lawyers Association.
Suite 300, 1331 G Street, NW, Washington, DC 20005
Copyright & Reprint Policy
Contact Us