Congress to Conference FY10 Homeland Security Appropriations Bill

Cite as "AILA InfoNet Doc. No. 09071563 (posted Jul. 15, 2009)"

On 07/09/09, the Senate insisted that its amendments to the FY10 Homeland Security Appropriations bill (H.R. 2892) be included in the final version of the bill and asked for a conference with members of the House of Representatives to resolve differences between the House and Senate versions of the bill.

The Senate appointed the following Senators as conferees: Byrd (D-WV), Inouye (D-HI), Leahy (D-VT), Mikulski (D-MD), Murray (D-WA), Landrieu (D-LA), Lautenberg (D-NJ), Tester (D-MT), Specter (D-PA), Voinovich (R-OH), Cochran (R-MS), Gregg (R-NH), Shelby (R-AL), Brownback (R-KS), and Murkowski (R-AK).

The House has not yet appointed its conferees, and no date for the conference committee has been announced yet.

The House version of the bill was passed on 06/24/09 by a vote of 389-37, and included a two year reauthorization of the Basic Pilot/E-Verify program.

The Senate version of the bill was passed on 07/09/09 by a vote of 84-6, and contained several of immigration-related amendments.

Copyright © 1993–2014, American Immigration Lawyers Association.
Suite 300, 1331 G Street, NW, Washington, DC 20005
Copyright & Reprint Policy
Contact Us