Set Text Size:




Minnesota and Alaska Legislatures Reject REAL ID

Cite as "AILA InfoNet Doc. No. 08053190 (posted May. 31, 2008)"

Earlier this month, Minnesota and Alaska became the eighth and ninth states whose legislatures have rejected Real ID, joining Maine, Montana, New Hampshire, Oklahoma, South Carolina, and Washington (as of 05/31/08). A dozen more states have approved resolutions calling for the costs of the Real ID program to be fully covered by Congress or the act repealed.

Minnesota's resolution (HF 3807) sought to prohibit the implementation of the REAL ID Act and was passed by both the House and Senate, but ultimately vetoed by Governor Tim Pawlenty. After vetoing the bill, Governor Pawlenty issued an executive order that prevents full state compliance with the federal Real ID program before June 1, 2009 unless approved by the legislature. After the Governor's executive order was issued the legislature rejected an attempt to override the Governor's veto on HF3807.

Alaska's REAL ID resolution (SB 202) sough to block funding for implementation of the REAL ID Act, and was passed into law through overwhelming votes of 39-1 and 19-1 in the House and Senate respectively, and through Governor Sarah Palin's acquiescence (she failed to either sign or veto the bill in the mandatory 20-day period).

Copyright © 1993–2014, American Immigration Lawyers Association.
Suite 300, 1331 G Street, NW, Washington, DC 20005
Copyright & Reprint Policy
Contact Us