

September 9, 2008

Dear Member of Congress:

Congress has an opportunity before it adjourns to help advance U.S. innovation leadership by enacting H.R. 5882, a modest, bipartisan bill that would simply "recapture" employment-based immigrant visas numbers that Congress authorized in prior fiscal years, but that went unused due to government processing delays. H.R. 5882 is a common sense measure that should be enacted without delay this year.

EB green cards allow U.S. employers to retain highly educated professionals – including scientists, researchers, teachers and medical professionals – who are already legally living and working in America. Yet, despite the clear link between green cards and U.S. competitiveness, the EB green card system has effectively gone unchanged for 18 years, which has resulted in well-documented backlogs spanning anywhere from two to upwards of 10 years. These waits create a disincentive for the world's best and brightest to pursue careers at U.S. companies and universities, therefore threatening the foundations of American innovation.

H.R. 5882, which Representative Zoe Lofgren introduced with Representative Jim Sensenbrenner, would help reduce visa backlogs by recapturing Congressionally authorized EB green cards from prior fiscal years that went unused due to bureaucratic delays. This legislation has been endorsed by over 70 employer, family and community-based organizations. In 2005, 85 U.S. Senators voted in support of green card recapture.

We also support two related measures, H.R. 6039 and H.R. 5921, which would make further improvements to the green card system by addressing certain graduates of U.S. universities and removing per country limits.

Failure to enact at least H.R. 5882 as a starting point this year will further hamper U.S. employers in the global competition for the world's best talent, as more and more extremely valuable professionals from around the world take their education and abilities to other nations that strategically pursue policies to attract these individuals. The U.S. system sends the opposite message: Permanent resident status is extremely difficult to obtain, and even visas already authorized by law are not available.

America's future is at stake. Congress should quickly pass this modest measure that keeps highly talented individuals working to benefit the American economy. We urge your support for H.R. 5882 this year.

Sincerely,

Gilbert F. Amelio, Ph.D. Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Jazz Semiconductor

Steven A. Ballmer Chief Executive Officer Microsoft Corporation

Craig Barrett Chairman Intel Corporation

Jan Becker SVP of Human Resources and Corporate Real Estate Autodesk, Inc.

Robert M. Berdahl President Association of American Universities

Rich Beyer Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer Freescale Semiconductor

Jim Bidzos Chairman & CEO VeriSign

Edward J. Black President and CEO Computer & Communications Industry Association Laszlo Bock Vice President, People Operations Google, Inc.

Phillip J. Bond President & CEO Information Technology Association of America

Dan Burton Senior Vice President, Global Public Policy Salesforce.com

John J. Castellani President Business Roundtable

Safra Catz President Oracle

Roger F. Cocivera President & CEO Textile Rental Services Association of America

George Conrades Executive Chairman Akamai Technologies

Jill E. Cook Vice President, Human Resources Cummins Inc. John P. Daane President, CEO and Chairman of the Board Altera Corporation

Rhett Dawson President and CEO Information Technology Industry Council

Aart de Geus Chairman and CEO Synopsys

Hector de J. Ruiz, Ph.D. Executive Chairman Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.

Paul Deninger Vice Chairman Jefferies & Co.

Mark Denzler Vice President, Government Affairs & Membership Illinois Manufacturers' Association

Jesse Devitte Managing Director & Co-founder Borealis Ventures

Thomas J. Donohue President & CEO U.S. Chamber of Commerce

Brett Dungan President & CEO Master Marine, Inc.

John Engler President and CEO National Association of Manufacturers Patrick Ennis Global Head of Technology Intellectual Ventures

Phil Ferneau Managing Director & Co-founder Borealis Ventures

Ralph Folz Global Chief Operating Officer Isobar

Michael Gallagher President and CEO Entertainment Software Association

China Miner Gorman Acting President and Chief Executive Officer Society for Human Resource Management

Phil Greenough CEO/Founder Greenough Communications

Brian Halla Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer National Semiconductor

Glenn Hamer President/CEO Arizona Chamber of Commerce & Industry

Christopher W. Hansen President & CEO AeA (American Electronics Association)

Tim Healy Chairman & CEO EnerNOC Bill Hewitt President & CEO Kalido

Robert W. Holleyman, II President and CEO Business Software Alliance

Keith Jackson President, CEO and Director ON Semiconductor Corporation

Kellie Johnson President ACE Clearwater Enterprises

Marlene M. Johnson Executive Director and CEO NAFSA: Association of International Educators

Bill Kessenich President Unlimited Services of WI, Inc.

Howard Kogan President Molecular

Charles H. Kuck President American Immigration Lawyers Association

Charles D. Lein President and COO Stuller, Inc.

John N. Little CEO The MathWorks Tod Loofbourrow President & CEO Authoria

Lisa M. Mascolo US Country Managing Director Accenture

John McAdam President & CEO F5 Networks Inc.

Harold McGraw III Chairman, President and CEO The McGraw-Hill Companies

Brian P. McGuire Executive Vice President Tooling and Manufacturing Association

Smith McKeithen Executive VP, Corporate Affairs Cadence Design Systems

Peter McPherson President NASULGC: A Public University Association

Lowell Miles CEO Miles Fiberglass & Composites Inc.

Albert R. Miller President Phoenix Closures, Inc.

Chuck Moran President & CEO SkillSoft Larry Myers Senior Vice President, Human Resources T-Mobile

Bob Nelson Managing Director Arch Venture Partners

Kim Polese CEO SpikeSource, Inc.

Jeff Ray CEO Dassault Systèmes SolidWorks Corporation

David A. Raymond President and CEO American Council of Engineering Companies

James E. Reilly President F.N. Sheppard & Co

William A. Reinsch President National Foreign Trade Council

Ed Roberts Vice President Indiana Manufacturers Association

Willem Roelandts Chairman of the Board Xilinx, Inc.

Paul Sagan President & CEO Akamai Technologies George M. Scalise President Semiconductor Industry Association

Brian Schipper Senior Vice President, Human Resources Cisco Systems, Inc.

Lynn Shotwell Executive Director American Council on International Personnel

Keith L. Smith CEO Zango, Inc.

Charles Stamp, Jr. Vice President, Public Affairs World Wide Deere & Company

Larry Sumney President and CEO Semiconductor Research Corporation

Abhi Talwalkar President and Chief Executive Officer LSI Corporation

Richard K. Templeton Chairman, President, and CEO Texas Instruments

John Tickle President Strongwell Corporation

Rex W. Tillerson Chairman & CEO Exxon Mobil Corporation Jim Voelker CEO Infospace, Inc.

Kevin Walker CEO Simple Tuition

Dan Warmenhoven Chairman and Chief Executive Officer NetApp

Ken Wasch President Software & Information Industry Association

Lezlee Westine President & CEO TechNet

Sandra Westlund-Deenihan President Quality Float Works, Inc.

Warren Young President Acme Industries, Inc.

Chris Zannetos CEO Courion