H.J.Res. 46: Relating to a National Emergency Declared by the President on February 15, 2019

On 3/15/19, President Trump signed the first veto of his presidency, rejecting the Senate and House vote on H.J. Res. 4L6: Relating to a National Emergency. For more information, see: The Hill: Trump issues first veto, warning of 'reckless' resolution.

On 3/14/19, the U.S. Senate passed H.J.Res. 46 by a 59-41 vote. The resolution was unanimously supported by Democrats, along with the following twelve GOP Senators:

  • Senator Lamar Alexander (TN)
  • Senator Susan Collins (ME)
  • Senator Mike Lee (UT)
  • Senator Lisa Murkowski (AK)
  • Senator Roy Blunt (MO)
  • Senator Rand Paul (KY)
  • Senator Pat Toomey (PA)
  • Senator Rob Portman (OH)
  • Senator Jerry Moran (KS)
  • Senator Marco Rubio (FL)
  • Senator Roger Wicker (MS)
  • Senator Mitt Romney (UT)

The resolution now heads to the President's desk, where he is expected to use the first veto of his presidency to defeat it.

On 2/26/19, the U.S. House of Representatives passed H.J.Res. 46 by a 245 to 182 vote. The following thirteen House Republicans joined the Democrats, who voted unanimously, in support of the resolution:

  • Rep. Francis Rooney (FL)
  • Rep. Thomas Massie (KY)
  • Rep. Fred Upton (MI)
  • Rep. Elise Stefanik (NY)
  • Rep. Greg Walden (OR)
  • Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick (PA)
  • Rep. Dusty Johnson (SD)
  • Rep. Jamie Herrera Beutler (WA)
  • Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers (WA)
  • Rep. Mike Gallagher (WI)
  • Rep. Jim Sensenbrenner (WI)

The resolution will now go to the U.S. Senate for a vote in the upcoming weeks.

On 2/22/19, Representative Joaquin Castro (D-TX) introduced H.J.Res. 46 that would block the President’s emergency declaration on the southern border. The resolution has over 220 co-sponsors.

[This functionality does not work on your device. Please use the download button to access the PDF. A separate PDF reading app may be necessary.]

Cite as AILA Doc. No. 19022201.

Open the Document