S.J.Res. 54: Relating to a National Emergency

On 09/27/19, the U.S. House of Representatives passed S.J.Res. 54 on a 236 to 174 vote, with eleven Republicans joining the Democrats. The president is expected to veto this resolution.

On 9/25/19, the Senate voted in favor of S.J.Res.54 on a 54-41 vote. The following eleven Republicans voted in favor of the resolution:

  • Senator Alexander (R-TN)
  • Senator Blunt (R-MO)
  • Senator Collins (R-ME)
  • Senator Lee (R-UT)
  • Senator Moran (R-KS)
  • Senator Murkowski (R-AK)
  • Senator Paul (R-KY)
  • Senator Portman (R-OH)
  • Senator Romney (R-UT)
  • Senator Toomey (R-PA)
  • Senator Wicker (R-MS)

On 9/10/19, Senators Tom Udall (D-NM), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH) and Susan Collins (R-ME) introduced S.J.Res.54, a joint resolution that would terminate the national emergency declared by the President of February 15, 2019.

[This functionality does not work on your device. Please use the download button to access the PDF. A separate PDF reading app may be necessary.]

Cite as AILA Doc. No. 19092530.

Open the Document