BCBP Interim Management Directors Named

U.S. Department of Homeland Security
Border and Transportation Security Directorate
For Immediate Release

February 28, 2003

Press Releases

BCBP Interim Management Directors Named

Washington, DC - Under Secretary for Border and Transportation Security, Asa Hutchinson, and Commissioner of Customs, Robert C. Bonner, today announced the appointment of interim Directors for Field Operations in the new Bureau of Customs and Border Protection (BCBP).  The appointments will become effective when BCBP becomes operational on March 1. 

The interim directors will work out of the current locations of the twenty Customs Management Centers. 

"This is the first, and most important step in a long process," said Under Secretary Hutchinson.  "As we implement our plans, we will fully integrate the work of the agencies that now make up BCBP, and in doing so create a single face of government at the border."

"On March 1, the newly reorganized border agencies will not only make America safer, it will improve the cross-border process.  These are our twin goals," said Commissioner Bonner.  "These twenty men and women are true professionals who will see that these important twin goals are met."

The current U.S. Customs Commissioner, Robert C. Bonner, will serve as the first Commissioner of the Bureau of Customs and Border Protection.  Commissioner Bonner will report to the Under Secretary for Border and Transportation Security, Asa Hutchinson.

BCBP is one of three components in the Border and Transportation Security Directorate.  The new bureau will be responsible for enforcing customs and immigration laws at and between the 307 ports of entry.  Approximately 30,000 inspectors from the Customs Service, INS and the Plant Protection and Quarantine (PPQ) bureau of Agriculture will now work together under the new bureau.  The Border Patrol, from INS, also joins BCBP to protect the country between the ports of entry.

Interim port directors for the 307 ports of entry have also been named.  For information about the interim port directors in a specific locality, please contact the local public affairs officers for that city or town.

Interim Directors of Field Operations

Bureau of Customs and Border Protection

Atlanta, Georgia, Robert Gomez
Baltimore, Maryland, Steven Knox
Boston, Massachusetts, Phillip Spayd
Buffalo, New York, Michael D'Ambrosio
Chicago, Illinois, Anne Lombardi
Detroit, Michigan, Kevin Weeks
El Paso, Texas, Luis Garcia
Houston, Texas, Robert Trotter
Laredo, Texas, Gurdit Dhillon
Los Angeles, California, John Heinrich
Miami, Florida, Thomas Winkowski
New Orleans, Louisiana, James Hynes
New York, New York, Susan Mitchell
Portland, Oregon, James Tong
San Diego, California, Adele Fasano
San Francisco, California, Thomas O'Brien
San Juan, Puerto Rico, Marcelino Borges
Seattle, Washington, Thomas Hardy
Tampa, Florida, Denise Crawford
Tucson, Arizona, Donna De La Torre

Cite as AILA Doc. No. 03030343.