Senate Passes Immigration Reform Bill

Senate Passes S.744 on a 68-32 Vote

Today, in a historic vote, the Senate, while presided over by Vice President (and Senate President) Joe Biden, successfully passed (on a 68-32 vote) S. 744, the Border Security, Economic Opportunity, and Immigration Modernization Act.

Read AILA's Press Statement on the passage of S.744.

Here are some heartfelt quotes from members of the "Gang of Eight" and Senate leadership before the vote on the bill:

Sen. Rubio (R-FL)
Go to our factories and our fields, to the kitchens of this very building, you will find that the miracle of America is still alive. Here, in America, generations of unfulfilled dreams will finally come to pass. And that's why I support this reform.

Sen. Graham (R-SC):
To the American people, the best days lie ahead. This is a day that I've been hoping and waiting for.

Sen. Durbin (D-IL):
[To DREAMers] I'm never giving up on you. Don't give up on me.

Sen. McCain (R-AZ):
Shouldn't we give them the same chance that we've given generation after generation of immigrants.

Sen. Schumer (D-NY):
The support that is generated by this Senate will be impossible to ignore. Pass this bill and let's keep the American covenant alive. Pass this bill and let the torch of Lady Liberty continue to shine brightly.

Sen. Reid (D-NY):
Senator Leahy's markup will go down in history. The day is today. I know that Senator Kennedy is looking down on us proudly and loudly. The finish line is very close here, down this hallway and to the House of Representatives. I'm confident that the House of Representatives will pass this legislation because I can see a new man standing with his head held high, afraid of nothing.

Senators voting in the affirmative (68), include:
Alexander (R-TN)
Ayotte (R-NH)
Baldwin (R-WI)
Baucus (D-MT)
Begich (D-AK)
Bennet (D-CO)
Blumenthal (D-CT)
Boxer (D-CA)
Brown (D-OH)
Cantwell (D-WA)
Cardin (D-MD)
Carper (D-DE)
Casey (D-PA)
Chiesa (R-NJ)
Cochran (R-MS)
Collins (R-ME)
Coons (D-DE)
Corker (R-TN)
Cowan (D-MA)
Donnelly (D-IN)
Durbin (D-IL)
Feinstein (D-CA)
Flake (R-AZ)
Franken (D-MN)
Gillibrand (D-NY)
Graham (R-SC)
Hagan (D-NC)
Harkin (D-IA)
Hatch (R-UT)
Heinrich (D-NM)
Heitkamp (D-ND)
Heller (R-NV)
Hirono (D-HI)
Hoeven (R-ND)
Kaine (D-VA)
King (D-ME)
Kirk (R-IL)
Klobuchar (D-MN)
Landrieu (D-LA)
Leahy (D-VT)
Levin (D-MI)
Manchin (D-WV)
McCain (R-AZ)
McCaskill (D-MO)
Menendez (D-NJ)
Merkeley (D-OR)
Mikulski (D-MD)
Moran (R-KS)
Murkowski (R-AK)
Murphy (D-CT)
Murray (D-WA)
Nelson (D-FL)
Pryor (D-AR)
Reed (D-RI)
Reid (D-NV)
Rockefeller (D-WV)
Rubio (R-FL)
Sanders (I-VT)
Schatz (D-HI)
Schumer (D-NY)
Shaheen (D-NH)
Stanebow (D-MI)
Tester (R-MT)
Udall (D-CO)
Udall (D-NM)
Warner (D-VA)
Warren (D-MA)
Whitehouse (D-RI)
Wyden (D-OR)

Senators voting in the negative (32) (against passage of the bill):
Barrasso (R-WY)
Blunt (R-MO)
Boozman (R-AR)
Burr (R-NC)
Chambliss (R-GA)
Coats (R-IN)
Coburn (R-OK)
Cornyn (R-TX)
Crapo (R-ID)
Cruz (R-TX)
Enzi (R-WY)
Fischer (R-NE)
Inhofe (R-OK)
Isakson (R-GA)
Grassley (R-IA)
Lee (R-UT)
McConnell (R-KY)
Paul (R-KY)
Portman (R-OH)
Risch (R-ID)
Roberts (R-KS)
Scott (R-SC)
Sessions (R-AL)
Shelby (R-AL)
Thune (R-SD)
Toomey (R-PA)
Vitter (R-LA)
Wicker (R-MS)

Cite as AILA Doc. No. 13062754.