President Revokes Proclamation Suspending Entry of Certain People Who Pose a Risk of Transmitting Omicron Variant

On December 28, 2021, President Biden revoked Presidential Proclamation 10315, which had suspended entry of certain individuals physically present in countries where the Omicron variant of COVID-19 had been detected. DOS subsequently issued guidance on the rescission of the travel restrictions on Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe, which will take effect December 31, 2021, at 12:01 am (ET). Vaccine requirements will remain in effect.

On 11/26/21, the White House issued a proclamation suspending and limiting the entry for certain immigrants and nonimmigrants who were physically present in countries where the Omicron variant of COVID-19 has been detected. (86 FR 68385, 12/1/21)

  • Republic of Botswana
  • Kingdom of Eswatini
  • Kingdom of Lesotho
  • Republic of Malawi
  • Republic of Mozambique
  • Republic of Namibia
  • Republic of South Africa
  • Republic of Zimbabwe

This proclamation is effective at 12:01 am (ET) on November 29, 2021. This proclamation does not apply to persons aboard a flight scheduled to arrive in the United States that departed prior to 12:01 am (ET) on November 29, 2021.

AILA Public Statements

Practice Assistance

Other Government Guidance

[This functionality does not work on your device. Please use the download button to access the PDF. A separate PDF reading app may be necessary.]

Cite as AILA Doc. No. 21112981.

Open the Document