Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Recognition Award

5/13/24 AILA Doc. No. 99900673.

The Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Recognition Award is an acknowledgment bestowed upon an individual, law firm, law school, nonprofit, or organization in the immigration field that has promoted diversity, equity, and inclusion excellence in the immigration legal profession. Each year, the DEI Committee will grant this award and we seek AILA members' input on candidates to consider for this honor. Awardees will be recognized during the AILA Annual Conference.

The DEI Recognition Award recipient demonstrates an excellence in diversity, equity, and inclusiveness efforts beyond the call of duty as represented by the following criteria:

  1. Enhances inclusion through positive communication between persons of different backgrounds
  2. Develops innovative methods for increasing and valuing diversity through wide-ranging activities
  3. Demonstrates outstanding efforts to promote an environment free from bias and discrimination
  4. Organizes, creates and facilitates opportunities promoting diversity, respect, equity, and inclusiveness

DEI Recognition Award Recipients

  • Ban Al-Wardi and Maria Chavez (2023)
  • Olivia Serene Lee (2022)
  • Dahlia Walker-Huntington (2021)
  • LGBT Asylum Project (2020)
  • Irish International Immigrant Center (2019)
  • Sui Chung (2019)